Dundee Sports Awards 23-24 Shortlisted Nominees Announced

Dundee Sports Awards 23-24 Shortlisted Nominees Announced

Leisure & Culture Dundee has announced the shortlisted nominees for the 23/24 Dundee Sports Awards, which will celebrate sport in Dundee. The awards will pay tribute to the success of the cities elite and community sports clubs, schools, athletes and volunteers on the same evening, recognising the work that is taking place to provide sporting opportunities to more people in schools and communities across Dundee.

Judy Dobbie, Director of Leisure & Culture Dundee, said,  

"We are pleased to unveil the shortlisted candidates for the Sports Awards 23-24. The calibre of nominations was very high, presenting our judging panel with some challenging decisions. The depth of talent and commitment within our city's sports community is remarkable. Congratulations to all those shortlisted. We now eagerly await the forthcoming Sports Awards ceremony."


The Gym Rental Company will sponsor the awards ceremony taking place on Saturday, May 11, 2024, at the Apex Hotel in Dundee.

Category Nominees
Student Volunteer of the Year 

Peyton Brown (Abertay University & Ballumbie Primary School)

Liam Latto (Abertay University & Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Jamie McDonald (Dundee & Angus College & Eastern Primary School)

Amy Thoms (Abertay University & Craigiebarns Primary School / Tayside Jets Netball Club) 

Young Volunteer of the Year 

Oscar Brown (Dundee Wanderers Hockey Club)

Lilah Farquharson (Braeview Academy)

Darcy Kinnear (St Paul’s RC Academy)

Charlotte Rome (Grove Academy & Grove Menzieshill Hockey Club) 

School Volunteer of the Year 

Andy Cameron (Clepington Primary School)

Stacey Lawson (Camperdown Primary School)

Jack Robertson (Baldragon Academy)

Scott Shields (Craigiebarns Primary School)  

Club Volunteer of the Year  

Jayne Digby (Dundee West Community Trust)

Gordon Farquharson (Fairfield Walking Football)

Gemma Lumsdaine (Dundee Dragons Wheelchair Sports Club)

David Sturrock (Tay Estuary Watersports Hub)  

Volunteer Coach of the Year 

Dave Martin (Harris FP Hockey Club)

Gary Mathieson (Dundee Rugby Club)

Nicola Nixon (Kizuna Karate Scotland)

Jack Robertson (Menzieshill Whitehall Swimming & Waterpolo Club)  

Lifetime Commitment Award 

Jennifer Quinton & Eileen Ramsay (Discovery Swimming Club)

Nigel Reynolds (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers Athletics Club)  

Alex Steele (Forfarshire Cricket Club) 

School of the Year  

Baldragon Academy

Braeview Academy

Craigiebarns Primary School  

St Andrews Primary School 

Club of the Year  

Dundee Dragons Wheelchair Sports Club

Dundee Nomads Badminton Club

Dundee West Community Trust

Forfarshire Cricket Club

Kanzen Karate 

Jenny Wood Allen Memorial Trophy 

Michael Cook (Dundee Boccia Club)

Shayne Humphries (Dundee Dragons Wheelchair Sports Club)

Taylor MacKenzie (St John’s High School)

Cameron Millar (Dundee Boccia Club)

Jenna Richardson (Dundee Boccia Club)

Young Sports Person of the Year 

Callie Bowman (Braeview Academy)

Aubree Craig (Clepington Primary School & Kanzen Karate)

Daniel Przybylski (St Paul’s Academy)

Cole Stewart (Grove Academy) 

Sports Person of the Year 

Michael Leask (Forfarshire Cricket Club)

Natasha Phillips (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers Athletics Club)

Anastasia Vaipan Law & Luke Digby (Dundee Ice Skating Club) 

Changing Lives Award (Community) 

Amina - Muslim Women’s Resource Centre

Forthill Community Sports Club

Maryfield United Community Trust

Changing Lives Award (School) 

Baldragon Academy

Ballumbie Primary School

St Andrews Primary School 

Need this in a different language?