What's On

The Future of Ageing
V and A  |  Free.
The Future of Ageing Image
The Future of Ageing explores how design is transforming the way society can support everyone to age with greater agency and joy.

Curated by Design Age Institute in collaboration with the Design Museum, discover how design can support an ageing population - and indeed our own future selves ' to meet their needs, interests and aspirations with greater agency and joy.

One thing we all have in common is that we are ageing, and many of us will live into old age. By 2040, more than a quarter of the UK's population will be aged over 60. We are moving towards a future in which the population of older adults will only continue to grow.

The Future of Ageing display celebrates how design can help us reimagine products, services and environments to enhance our experience of living in later life with a selection of prototypes, sketches and research from projects that are being developed by Design Age Institute and its partners.

Among them are 'The Centaur' - a self-balancing, two-wheeled personal electric vehicle for people with difficulties getting around, 'Gita' - a hands-free cargo-carrying robot, the 'Home Office to Age in Place' - created to integrate flexible living and working space for later life, and 'Hearing Birdsong' - a digital 'audioscape' app that uses the sound of birdsong to engage visitors with their hearing health.

#WeAreAllAgeing

Image Credit: Luke O'Donovan.



Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Promoted By: Design Age Institute in collaboration with the Design Museum
Thursday 8th December 2022 10:00am
Friday 9th December 2022 10:00am
Saturday 10th December 2022 10:00am
Sunday 11th December 2022 10:00am
Monday 12th December 2022 10:00am
Wednesday 14th December 2022 10:00am
Thursday 15th December 2022 10:00am
Friday 16th December 2022 10:00am
Saturday 17th December 2022 10:00am
Sunday 18th December 2022 10:00am
Monday 19th December 2022 10:00am
Wednesday 21st December 2022 10:00am
Thursday 22nd December 2022 10:00am
Friday 23rd December 2022 10:00am
Saturday 24th December 2022 10:00am
Wednesday 28th December 2022 10:00am
Thursday 29th December 2022 10:00am
Friday 30th December 2022 10:00am
Saturday 31st December 2022 10:00am
Wednesday 4th January 2023 10:00am
Thursday 5th January 2023 10:00am
Friday 6th January 2023 10:00am
Saturday 7th January 2023 10:00am
Sunday 8th January 2023 10:00am
Monday 9th January 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 11th January 2023 10:00am
Thursday 12th January 2023 10:00am
Friday 13th January 2023 10:00am
Saturday 14th January 2023 10:00am
Sunday 15th January 2023 10:00am
Monday 16th January 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 18th January 2023 10:00am
Thursday 19th January 2023 10:00am
Friday 20th January 2023 10:00am
Saturday 21st January 2023 10:00am
Sunday 22nd January 2023 10:00am
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map

Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading
Need this in a different language?