What's On

Mary Quant Exhibition
V and A  |  £6 - £10.50  Booking Required
Mary Quant Exhibition Image
Mary Quant disrupted the fashion establishment, connecting with an energised, youthful audience looking for something fresh and fun. From rising hemlines to androgynous shapes and styling, Quant captured the zeitgeist of the moment.

This exhibition is the first international retrospective on the iconic British designer who started a fashion revolution that a whole generation wanted to take part in.

Quant designed clothes that made people feel good, making quality designer fashion affordable through her playful brand, signified by the trademark daisy.

Quant encouraged a new age of feminism, inspiring young women to rebel against the traditional clothing worn by their mothers and grandmothers. Her shop Bazaar opened in 1955, the year after World War Two food rationing ended, her playful designs a colourful reaction against the drab austerity of post-war London.

Quant is famous for popularising the miniskirt, but her designs offered many different versions of femininity, challenging the conventional gender stereotypes of post-war Britain.

Key objects featured within the exhibition include the pioneering 'Wet Collection' PVC rainwear, a jute miniskirt, and designs that playfully subverted menswear ' at a time when women were still banned from wearing trousers in formal settings such as restaurants.

Mary Quant is selling out a few days in advance, be sure to book your tickets before you visit.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
£6 - £10.50
Booking Required
Promoted By: V&A Dundee
Thursday 29th October 2020 10:00am
Friday 30th October 2020 10:00am
Saturday 31st October 2020 10:00am
Sunday 1st November 2020 10:00am
Monday 2nd November 2020 10:00am
Thursday 5th November 2020 10:00am
Friday 6th November 2020 10:00am
Saturday 7th November 2020 10:00am
Sunday 8th November 2020 10:00am
Monday 9th November 2020 10:00am
Thursday 12th November 2020 10:00am
Friday 13th November 2020 10:00am
Saturday 14th November 2020 10:00am
Sunday 15th November 2020 10:00am
Monday 16th November 2020 10:00am
Thursday 19th November 2020 10:00am
Friday 20th November 2020 10:00am
Saturday 21st November 2020 10:00am
Sunday 22nd November 2020 10:00am
Monday 23rd November 2020 10:00am
Thursday 26th November 2020 10:00am
Friday 27th November 2020 10:00am
Saturday 28th November 2020 10:00am
Sunday 29th November 2020 10:00am
Monday 30th November 2020 10:00am
Thursday 3rd December 2020 10:00am
Friday 4th December 2020 10:00am
Saturday 5th December 2020 10:00am
Sunday 6th December 2020 10:00am
Monday 7th December 2020 10:00am
Thursday 10th December 2020 10:00am
Friday 11th December 2020 10:00am
Saturday 12th December 2020 10:00am
Sunday 13th December 2020 10:00am
Monday 14th December 2020 10:00am
Thursday 17th December 2020 10:00am
Friday 18th December 2020 10:00am
Saturday 19th December 2020 10:00am
Sunday 20th December 2020 10:00am
Monday 21st December 2020 10:00am
Monday 28th December 2020 10:00am
Monday 4th January 2021 10:00am
Thursday 7th January 2021 10:00am
Friday 8th January 2021 10:00am
Saturday 9th January 2021 10:00am
Sunday 10th January 2021 10:00am
Monday 11th January 2021 10:00am
Thursday 14th January 2021 10:00am
Friday 15th January 2021 10:00am
Saturday 16th January 2021 10:00am
Sunday 17th January 2021 10:00am
Monday 18th January 2021 10:00am
Thursday 21st January 2021 10:00am
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map

Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading
Need this in a different language?