Broughty Castle sits imposingly at the mouth of the River Tay. Built in 1496 on a rocky promontory, it has faced many sieges and battles.
Today, Broughty Castle Museum houses fascinating displays on the life and times of Broughty Ferry, its people, the environment and the wildlife that live close by. The Castle has magnificent views over the river, and is only minutes away from Broughty Ferry Beach and Esplanade. It's a 'must-see' attraction if you're visiting Broughty Ferry, and offers something for everyone, with a changing programme of events, activities and displays.
Summer opening hours: Monday to Saturday - 10am-4pm, Sunday 12.30-4pm.
Admission to Broughty Castle Museum and site is Free.
Broughty Castle is cared for by Historic Environment Scotland. The museum is operated by Leisure & Culture Dundee.
Facilities/How to Find Us
The City of Dundee is located on the east coast of Scotland, and is easily accessible by road, rail and air.
Situated approximately 10 minutes drive from Dundee City Centre, Broughty Castle Museum is located on the seafront beside Broughty Ferry harbour, beside Castle Green. Free parking is available at the front of the Castle.
There are several bus routes into Broughty Ferry from the surrounding areas, with stops all within walking distance of the Castle itself. For more information on travelling by bus, including the closest stops, please visit the following sites for further information.
The Castle is approximately an 8 minute walk from Broughty Ferry Rail Station. Full information on train times and ticket costs can be found at Trainline.com
A small selection of souvenirs, small gifts and postcards are available from the museum shop.
Located on the 2nd floor.
As a fortified and listed building, Broughty Castle has very restricted access for people whose mobility is limited. Due to the spiral staircase in the Castle, we regret that access for wheelchair-users is not possible.
- Car Parking
Free parking is available at the front of the Castle.