Only
days until Dundee's Santa Dash. Sign up now, all profits going to The ARCHIE Foundation.    Enter Now

What's On

Smile Image
Football visionary, tactical genius, greetin'-faced moan - who was the real Jim McLean?

Jim McLean might never be called one of Scottish football's best-loved characters, but he will always be described as one of the most respected. While boss of Dundee United, McLean did something that no-one thought possible, and turned a provincial football club into a genuine, European force, though not without cost.

Smile, a new piece based on the life of this legendary football icon, reveals for the first time the complexities and contradictions, the highs and lows, and the triumphs and regrets of this totally unique individual.

Penned by theatre and television writer Philip Differ (Only an Excuse?) and directed by Sally Reid, this funny, moving and surprisingly honest new play will celebrate the memories of a difficult yet inspirational man, ultimately revealing a Jim McLean you never knew:

A Jim McLean that will make you smile.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Tuesday 18th February 2020 7:30pm
Wednesday 19th February 2020 7:30pm
Thursday 20th February 2020 7:00pm
Friday 21st February 2020 7:30pm
Saturday 22nd February 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday 25th February 2020 7:30pm
Wednesday 26th February 2020 7:30pm
Thursday 27th February 2020 2:30pm
Thursday 27th February 2020 7:30pm
Friday 28th February 2020 7:30pm
Saturday 29th February 2020 2:30pm
Saturday 29th February 2020 7:30pm
Tuesday 3rd March 2020 7:30pm
Wednesday 4th March 2020 7:30pm
Thursday 5th March 2020 2:30pm
Thursday 5th March 2020 7:30pm
Friday 6th March 2020 7:30pm
Saturday 7th March 2020 2:30pm
Saturday 7th March 2020 7:30pm
Dundee Rep Box Office
01382 223530
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading
Need this in a different language?